American Coot

American Coot - Head

This is not a prop from a horror flick, nor is it a prehistoric creature. But you have to admit when you look at it this closely, it is a bit scary.

It is the face of a bird, and probably a bird you have often seen hanging around in city park ponds, or some other body of water. People seem to respond to it by calling it a funny looking, little black duck. They might even say it’s cute, but they are not down face to face with the creature.

In reality this is not even a duck. It is this is the same bird I highlighted last week, the very common, American coot. Last week I showed you just the foot, but today I give you the head, and that rather impressive white beak. The red eye makes him look even more menacing.

One of the tough lessons is to see things for what they really are. We see a situation and we think it’s cute, attractive or fun. We may not look close enough to recognize what we are seeing is a whole bunch of ugly dressed up in the devil’s best disguise.

But seeing through a deception requires something that is in short supply today. It takes time and attention. We are in a society that has reduced its social interactions to tweets and its entertainment to three minute YouTube clips.  We don’t look closely at anything anymore, neither do we take the time to evaluate the good and bad of situations with any degree of depth.

But if we want to live and walk as Christians, we must learn to see through the deceptions of the world and carefully evaluate what is right in every situation. Ephesians 5:15-16 (HCSB) Pay careful attention, then, to how you walk—not as unwise people but as wise—making the most of the time, because the days are evil.

3 thoughts on “American Coot

  1. Wow. I needed to read this today. I am too often deceived by seemingly harmless things only to later discover their parasitic effects. But it’s usually when I’m weak, or when my Christian walk is suffering. When I am leaning on Christ, walking with Him and have the Spirit living in me, then I can more easily spot the deceptions. I can actually feel when something isn’t quite as it seems. Thank you for reminding me not to lose my step and to keep my heart and mind on God and not the things of this deceptive world.

  2. Pingback: Coot drives away carrion crow, video | Dear Kitty. Some blog

Leave a Reply

