Ricochet

There was only one thing left to do. I reached back behind my head and pressed a button. A wave of dizziness swept over me, but it passed quickly.

This was not the first time I had turned on the Implanted Tactical Operative Assistant, commonly called ITOA, but it was still overwhelming.  Now as a SWAT sniper I could put a bullet into a dime, from 300 yards, with a ricochet. All I have to do is focus on the spot. ITOA works with the massive computational power of my brain, and it can link to any internet capable device for additional data.

I was happy to get it after World War Three started, not the expected nuclear holocaust, but instead a massive global gang war. It started with Russian and Chinese Mafia fighting for the ghettoes of India. But it quickly spread. Smaller gangs no longer exist and five massive illegal crime syndicates were setting the whole world on fire.

The current situation is an all-out attack on the barrio outside of Los Angeles. The Russian Mafia is starving the Crypts financially. No customers leads to no cash flow and another gang is defeated.

Over the next twenty minutes I took out a couple dozen guerillas. I used an existing camera in an atm, and bounced the shots off a steel wrecking ball. One man, the last of his unit, grabbed a hostage. I waited for him to move his head back just a little for a clearer shot.

That was when I noticed his scar. It was just like mine. It was inevitable that sooner or later they would get a hold of ITOA too. I put a bullet through the little computer implant. The girl settled down on her tush crying.

I saw a security camera on the building next door turning toward me. A sinking feeling came over me. It didn’t last long.

========================================================

This story was prepared for the Trifecta Writing Challenge.

• Your response must be between 33 and 333 words.  (My entry is 317 words)
• You must use the 3rd definition of the given word in your post.
• The word itself needs to be included in your response.
• You may not use a variation of the word; it needs to be exactly as stated above.
• Only one entry per writer.
• If your post doesn’t meet our requirements, please leave your link in the comments section, not in the linkz.
• Trifecta is open to everyone.

 

tush

1. a long pointed tooth; especially : a horse’s canine
2. an interjection used to express disdain or reproach
3. buttocks (slang)

8 thoughts on “Ricochet

  1. Excellent descriptions of the geo-political environment and the impressive new technology. I think Charles Henderson (USMC) would be proud of the amazing shots taken in this one. Sniper duels like this can end quite suddenly like this one. Great work. I really liked your take on the prompt.

Leave a Reply

