Halloween

Now that it is almost over I suppose I can admit it, after all it’s hardly a secret.

I am one of those pastor’s that hates Halloween. I view it as a celebration of everything evil. I don’t think this opinion is old fashioned nor do I think it moralistic to discourage association with or celebration of evil. I realize that many of the evils represented in popular references to Halloween are fictional, but evil itself is not fictional.

That is the bottom line as far as I can see. Good and evil do exist. We should not expect to represent good or to speak on behalf of God, while enjoying an annual celebration of evil

2 thoughts on “Halloween

  1. I think it is evil too Pastor. That’s why we don’t celebrate it. Thank you for your remarks.

    God bless you and keep you in HIS loving tender care.

    • This is why we never call the event at church a Halloween party. Instead we call it either a Fall Fest or a Halloween alternative. We still hope the kids have fun, but discourage everything about associating with evil. On the gospel hayride last night I presented the gospel about 10 times. Generally to groups of 7 or 8. A lot of the people were children who were to young to understand fully, but I was glad to see several young adults and teens that were considering the truth of Christ because of the presentation.

Leave a Reply

