Obama Depressive Disorder

#Politics Monday – But talking about politics is getting too easy, so today I am going out on a limb to talk about mental health instead. In fact, I am going really far out on a limb to predict a soon to be recognized mental illness which should be identified by the medical professionals any day now.

I am confident the medical world will recognize it, because I see people all around me suffering from the effects of this dread disorder. Since I am the one that first identified it, I get to name it. So I am going to call it Obama Depressive Disorder or ODD for short.

People cursed with ODD will exhibit the symptoms of depression initiated by an overwhelming case of fear of what Obama and his policies are doing to this country and to them personally.

The most severely afflicted people will believe that Obama is the antichrist. That he will never leave office at the end of his term and from there they expect he will eventually rule the world for the devil’s glory. These people may be preparing to become survivalists, stockpiling food and guns or similar behaviors.

The mildest cases will exhibit a certain paranoia about being identified as a racist simply because they disagree with the president’s policies. The primary symptom for these individuals is to fail to speak out no matter how ludicrous they find the actions of government.

The more common, middle of the road cases will demonstrate financial symptoms. The severity of the financial indicators ranges from setting aside additional savings in an attempt to pay for whatever fines, fees, or taxes they are about to incur, all the way up to long term unemployment. In these more severe cases you can expect to see loss of assets and bankruptcy.

There are some disturbing medical symptoms too, specifically people seem to be throwing up their hands and giving up on trying to keep up with their own medical care, and especially a fear of red tape associated with future medical care. I have even seen medical professionals abandon their studied field to avoid such legal constraints.

The executive branch might quibble with my description of ODD, preferring to think of it as WRD, that is W’s Recessive Disorder. But by their own declarations, they already fixed WRD, so personally I think Obama needs to own this one.

I will be in my office when you’re ready to give me my Nobel Prize for medicine. I probably will not be clutching an automatic handgun and hoarding canned goods. Probably not.

5 thoughts on “Obama Depressive Disorder

  1. I came to your blog hoping to read of a pastor who had some guidence on mental illness. Although I do understand what you were trying to do here, and I do not find your political opinion offensive, I am a little disheartened by the fact that you tagged your blog with some very serious health conditions. People who suffer from these conditions may come to read your blog and find this satire and feel that a pastor is making light of their condition. A condition that leads many to hopeless feelings and may have come here looking for hope from someone like you.

    I haven’t read your blog before and am not familiar with your church or even the denomination you affiliate with but I truly believe that Christianity is an accepting and loving religion. Jesus didn’t judge but taught love and acceptance and moved among his people instead of above them. I would bet that there are some among you that may suffer from some of the conditions you tagged in this piece. Maybe you will consider your next writing be about one of those, but not in satire this time? I guarantee people really need information and faith leadership on just those subjects right now. October 10th is Mental Health Awareness Day and today is the last day of Suicide Awareness Month. Make a big difference in someone’s life…

    Thank you!!

  2. Thanks for commenting. And I am sorry that you were mislead by the post’s tags. There is no intention to make light of mental health issues. I probably got a little carried away with the tags suggested automatically. I will go back and review them.

  3. Charles,
    I enjoyed your tongue-in-cheek poking fun on how we put so much weight on what happens in politics. Yes, mental illness is serious but sometimes we need to regain our sense of humor and get a better perspective on life through the lenses of faith!

  4. My pleasure, Charles (Pastor Chip?)! I appreciate your amending your tags, very much.

    Carol – I absolutely agree having a sense of humor is important in both politics, and religion (and even in mental health) however, I was just pointing out to Charles that one of the tags that was attached to this particular piece was ‘Major Depressive Disorder’ which was the tag that led me here.

    MDD is an extreme version of depression characterized by feelings of hoplessness for 6 months or more and thinking of, if not attempting, suicide. It is one of the most serious of all mental diseases and I have been very interested in researching this topic especially how our religious leaders might be addressing it with their parishoners. I have taken on fighting stigma surrounding suicide and mental conditions and have been both extremely dissapointed and then also encouraged by my findings in how the church has addressed this as a whole and individually.

    I was hopeful when I saw this tag and when I clicked on the essay, I found a satire on Obama. Imagine if I had been a severely depressed seeker looking for Christian guidence on the subject of major Depressive Disorder finding instead a minister making fun of a mental condition. Although I understand this is not at all how the writing was intended, someone at the end of their rope, so to say, might find it extremely devistating at the worst and mildly dissapointing at best.

    He corrected it immediately and now, you can enjoy the article for what it was. And I did also enjoy the sense of humor he has for our current state of government irresponcibility.

    However, I stil would like to see more religious leaders provide guidence for those in a state of unwellness. Just putting that ‘out there’ for you, Pastor. 🙂

    Thank you once again for being so receptive to my concern. I am very hopeful that I can continue to turn people who are at their most desperate towards spiritual guidence and have them find more than judgement and misunderstanding. I have found that many have unfortunately given up on God and I feel that is where ultimate healing, along with therapy and medication, can lead to a ‘normal’ and productive life.

Leave a Reply

